Extended grant for tuition fees

Some educational institutions abroad entitle you to an extended grant if you have to pay high levels of tuition fees.

If you have started an education programme that entitles you to an extended grant, then you will receive that grant until you complete your programme.

Below you can se the full list applicable to the upcoming 2024-2025 academic year. This list has been drawn up by the Directorate for Higher Education and Skills.

Australia (6)

  • Australian National University
  • Monash University
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of New South Wales (UNSW - Sydney)
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Queensland

Belgium (1)

  • KU Leuven

Canada (3)

  • McGill University
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Toronto

France (3)

  • Université Paris-Saclay
  • Université PSL
  • Sorbonne University

Japan (2)

  • Kyoto University
  • University of Tokyo

China, including Hong Kong (9)

  • Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Fudan University
  • Peking University
  • Nanjing University
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University
  • Tsinghua University
  • Zhejiang University
  • University of Hong Kong
  • University of science and technology of China

The Netherlands (1)

  • University of Groningen

Singapore (2)

  • National University of Singapore
  • Nanyang Technological University

Great Britain (8)

  • Imperial College London
  • King's College London
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • University College London (UCL)
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Oxford

Switzerland (3)

  • Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL)
  • Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH)
  • University of Zurich

South-Chorea (1)

  • Seoul National University

Germany (4)

  • Heidelberg University
  • Technical University of Munich (TUM)
  • University of Bonn
  • University Munich (LMU)

USA (32)

  • Brown University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • California Institute of Technology
  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Harvard University
  • New York University
  • Northwestern University
  • Stanford University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Princeton University
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • University of California, San Diego
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
  • University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of Washington
  • University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • Yale University

No separate application

When you submit your application for a loan and grant, we will assess whether you are entitled to an extended grant for tuition fees.

If you want to see what level of loans and grants you are eligible for, you can complete the calculator at the top of the page.

Read more

The Directorate for Higher Education and Skills’ pages on the qualification list.