New list of universities that entitle you to an extended grant in 2023-2024

Published 20.10.2022
Students enrolled at universities with high tuition fees, and where the university is on the Directorate for Higher Education and Skills’ (HK-dir) qualification list, are eligible for an extended grant for tuition fees.

The list is revised annually. Students who are already enrolled in a degree programme that entitles them to the extended grant for tuition fees, will continue to receive the grant until the degree is finished, even if the university has been removed from the list.

For the upcoming academic year there are five universities that have been removed from the list and five universities that have been added to the list. The list is comprised of 75 universities in total.

les også

The qualification list on HK-dir's website (in Norwegian only)

The following universities have been removed from the list

  • Ghent University, Belgia
  • Leiden University, Nederland
  • Boston University, USA
  • Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • University of California, Davis, USA

The following universities have been added to the list

  • London School of Economics, Storbritannia
  • Seoul National University, Sør-Korea
  • University of Bonn, Tyskland
  • Brown University, USA
  • Vanderbilt University, USA

Complete list for the 2023-2024 academic year

Australia (6)

  • Australian National University
  • Monash University
  • University of New South Wales (UNSW)
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Sydney

Belgium (1)

  • KU Leuven

Canada (3)

  • McGill University
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Toronto

France (3)

  • Université Paris-Saclay
  • Université PSL
  • Sorbonne University

Japan (2)

  • Kyoto University
  • University of Tokyo

China, including Hong Kong (7)

  • Tsinghua University
  • Peking University
  • Zhejiang University
  • Fudan University
  • Schanghai Jiao Tong University
  • University of Science and Technology of China
  • University of Hong Kong

Netherlands (2)

  • University of Groningen
  • Utrecht University

Singapore (2)

  • Nanyang Technological University
  • National University of Singapore

Great Britain (9)

  • Imperial College London
  • King's College London
  • London School of Economics (LSE)
  • University College London (UCL)
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Oxford

Switzerland (3)

  • Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPLF)
  • Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurichv (ETH)
  • University of Zurich

South Korea (1)

  • Seoul National University

Germany (4)

  • Heidelberg University
  • Technical University Munich
  • University of Bonn
  • University of Munich (LMU)

USA (32)

  • Brown University
  • California Institute of Technology
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University
  • Harvard University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • New York University
  • Northwestern University
  • Princeton University
  • Stanford University
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • University of California, San Diego
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of Washington
  • University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • Yale University